A Primary Trust
for Primary Schools

Find Out More
Riverbridge Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery & Reception)

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) is a comprehensive statutory framework. The framework sets standards for development, learning and care of children from birth to five. Throughout the EYFS the children will be assessed using ‘Development Matters’.

There are seven areas of learning that are divided into two groups: 

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to realtionships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.
The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. The grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.

Personal, Social Emotional Development  

  • Making Relationships     
  • Self-Confidence and Self-Awareness  
  • Managing Feelings and Behaviour 

Communication and Language

  • Listening and Attention  
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Physical Development  

Moving and Handling 


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Number
  • Shape, Space and Measure

Understanding the World

  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being Imaginative
Riverbridge Primary School